Post-Independence all the 19 states and three Chief ships of Rajputana elevated towards the Indian Union. The integration took seven stages to form Rajasthan.

1. Matsya Union


Matsya Union was the first union formed post-independence on 17th March 1948, it consisted of Alwar, Bharatpur, Dhaulpur, & Karauli.

2. Rajasthan Union


The second stage Rajasthan Union was formed on 25th March 1948, it consisted of Tonk, Bundi, Kota, Jhalawar, Pratapgarh, Dungapur, Banswara, Kishangarh, & Shahapura.

3. United States of Rajasthan


The third stage United States of Rajasthan was formed only by three days after Rajasthan Union. The Maharana of Udaipur was certain to join the union along with others from the Rajasthan union.

4. Greater Rajasthan


The fourth stage was Greater Rajasthan formed by the joining of Bikaner, Jaisalmer, Jaipur & Jodhpur along with the United States of Rajasthan. It was formalized on 30th March 1949.

5. United States of Greater Rajasthan


In the fifth stage, Matsya Union was merged with Greater Rajasthan on 15th May 1949.

6. United Rajasthan


In the sixth stage, 18 states of the United States of Greater Rajasthan & the princely state of Sirohi got merged on 26th January 1950.

7. Re-organized Rajasthan


The seventh stage completed the formation of Rajasthan as a state, it took place because of the State Re-organization Act of 1956. The erstwhile part 'C' state of Ajmer, Abu Road Taluka, a former part of Sirohi princely state (which were merged in former Bombay), State and Sunel-Tappa region of the former Madhya Bharat merged with Rajasthan. The Re-organised Rajasthan was completed on 1st November 1956.

Submit Your Interest